Houston ISD superintendent Terry Grier was one of four finalists

AASA Announces 2014 National Superintendent of the Year

Alberto Carvalho, superintendent of the Miami-Dade Public Schools, was named the 2014 National Superintendent of the Year on Thursday at the opening ceremony of the AASA National Conference on Education in Nashville.

“We congratulate Terry Grier on being named a finalist for the 2014 AASA National Superintendent of the Year award. Although he did not win, we are extremely proud to have Terry represent this state and the hundreds of other dedicated Texas superintendents who work tirelessly on behalf of all of our students,” said TASA Executive Director Johnny Veselka.

A national blue ribbon panel of educators, business leaders and government officials selected Carvalho from four national finalists. The other finalists were:

Kevin Maxwell, Anne Arundel County Public Schools (Annapolis, Md)
Michele Taylor, Calhoun City Schools (Calhoun, Ga)
The four finalists were chosen from 49 state Superintendent of the Year finalists, all of whom represent excellence in school leadership nationwide. The annual awards program is open to all U.S. public school superintendents as well as superintendents in Canada and in American International Schools.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Posted: February 14th, 2014